Last Call in Dubrovnik

13 May 2017

Due to the previous night’s adventures, I overslept from all the drinking. But because I drank copious amounts of water, I did not wake up with a hangover. Take that, 30! However, I missed my chance for an early morning hike up Mount Srd, which ended up being fate since it was incredibly foggy and overcast in the morning.

Instead, I went back to Dubravka 1836 Restaurant & Cafe for breakfast and yet again battled the aggressive pigeons.

Afterward, I finally made my way to the City Walls tour which completely surround Old Town Dubrovnik. It was 150kn, which is about €20/£18. The medieval pathways are pretty narrow so if you are a slow walker make sure you step aside to let faster walkers pass …. Sort of like you’re in traffic. Also, this is a one way journey so walk up the stairs and make your way towards the Adriatic. There’s also plenty of vantage points, cafes, and rest stops if you need a break or simply want to look over the sea with a delicious smoothie in hand.
CIG_IMG244CIG_IMG249

CIG_IMG281CIG_IMG279

One of the towers you’ll see along the City Walls tour is Minčeta Tower, which was the filming location for Game of Thrones’ House of the Undying in Season 2 — where Daenerys enters to find her dragons. Did I reenact a few scenes and take some photos? You bet I did! “Where are my dragons?!”

CIG_IMG298
House of the Undying in Game of Thrones, but Minčeta Tower to Dubrovnik.

After exploring the City Walls I headed to the Old Port where I caught a boat to Lokrum Island, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Come to think of it, Old Town Dubrovnik and the walls are Heritage Sites as well. Within Lokrum, you will find a Benedictine monastery. Its gardens were also used to film Qarth scenes for GoT Season 2. I hiked around the island, dipped my toes in the Adriatic, and took a few pictures of the local wildlife. It is a gorgeous island that you can definitely plan a picnic at, especially if cruises are overrunning Dubrovnik. In fact, Robert my GoT tour guide, recommended that if a cruise comes into Dubrovnik the city will definitely be overcrowded. So, it is during this time when people should visit Lokrum.


CIG_IMG365

CIG_IMG329

cig_img384.jpg
Also on Lokrum? A Game of Thrones Media Centre where you will find the Iron Throne!

When I left the island I went back to Barba for some lunch then, with the sky now clear, I headed to the cable cars. I went up Mount Srd and took a few lovely shots of Dubrovnik.

CIG_IMG405

CIG_IMG399
View from Mount Srd

Afterward, I went back down and back into the city where I walked into a marching band walking through the main path. They stopped at Luža Square, and played, I kid you not, the Game of Thrones theme song. It was fate.

 

I then grabbed some dinner at Pizzeria Oliva and ended my night in Dubrovnik the way it started: drinking wine and D’vino.


Overall, Dubrovnik was truly amazing and I will definitely go back. I’d also like to explore more of Croatia and go on a wine tour or two. It was easy to give myself into my surroundings. I would just sit, relax and listen to the swarm of birds, the waves softly crashing on Lokrum, and even the mating calls of the peacocks. Each city during my Journey to 30 was unique and beautiful in its own right, but Dubrovnik was hands down my favourite. Also, my departure from the country was made all the more better as I witnessed an obnoxious and entitled drunk passenger get kicked off my EasyJet flight. Helpful travel tip: Don’t board a plane while completely belligerent and smelling of booze.

CIG_IMG442

Leave a Reply

