Vienna: Day 3

10 May 2017

So fun fact: I had to bring work with me during my Journey to 30 holiday because my PhD supervisor scheduled a Skype sesh for this morning. However, after a really productive meeting, I headed straight to Schönbrunn Palace!


I purchased my ticket online so I just had to scan the barcode on my phone to gain entrance. Beforehand, I had a quick lunch at the Residenz Café Restaurant. Delicious coffee and even more delicious pastries! I had a spinach and goat cheese strudel, which was perfectly flaky. Yummy! The café also offers private Strudel shows in the Imperial Bakery.

After my lunch I headed inside the Palace where, unfortunately, photography is not allowed even if you’re not using flash. *Sad Face* …. So I switched from my Canon to Phone again for a clandestine operation. Shhh, don’t tell them. #SnitchesGetStitches.

Then I headed to the absolutely beautiful gardens. If I was part of the Imperial family I’d be in the gardens all the time, chillin’ and drinking champagne while playing human chess à la Mel Brooks’ History of the World. Obviously joking, but I would definitely love to lounge in the gardens with a good book.

I then made my way to Gloriette, a lovely belvedere with a vantage point of the Palace and the surrounding neighbourhood.

CIG_IMG382

After my Schönbrunn Palace visit, I made my way to Naschmarkt, basically the Borough Market of Vienna. I was overwhelmed by the shops and stalls available and the amount of food to choose from. I decided to eat at Neni and basked in the sunlight with a glass of white wine.

CIG_IMG421

I headed back to my Airbnb to get ready for my night out at Porgy & Bess, Vienna’s popular jazz club where I snagged a front row table to watch Enrico Rava and Geri Allen. This place is cash-only so make sure to bring those Euros if you book a table here. After my jazz and wine I was definitely feeling the need for sleep. This was also my last night in Vienna and I had a fabulous three days! I definitely need to go back to Austria though to visit Salzburg. Until next time, Austria!

Leave a Reply

