Vienna: Day 2

9 May 2017

Another full day of adventure. I left my Airbnb early and headed to Café Neko, a cat cafe — these seem to be trending. Don’t get me wrong, I love cute kitties, but where are the puppy cafes? I’d like to see a puppy or doggo cafe before I die. If one does exist, please let me know so I can book a trip immediately.

Unfortunately the food menu was not really existent, but cats and coffee were plenty! I had a cafe latte and took a few pictures of cats observing the “If I fits, I sits” rule, and generally just lounging around. There was really cute artwork too.

CIG_IMG055

CIG_IMG052
If I fits I sits.

 

Afterward I walked over to the National Library of Vienna and saw the State Hall. It. Was. Stunning. I seem to be ranting a lot in this post but just once, I wish there was a working library with medieval and modern texts. Can’t I just lounge and look at digital copies of these books or their later editions? I wanted so badly to explore upstairs and pretend to be Belle but alas, I was only able to admire from afar and take a few pictures. One day I want a library just like this one! … a bit ostentatious, but a girl can dream!

IMG_1204

 

I explored the city some more, took a few wrong turns, and headed to the Vienna State Opera for a 3pm tour. Again, I used a student discount – 3.50 y’all! That’s a steal! Our tour guide was great and she mentioned that the Tea Room can be rented for 15 minutes for the low price of €800. She also mentioned people actually book this room to fit in a 15-minute wedding ceremony! I wonder how much the library would be though …

IMG_1334

After the tour, I headed to the MuseumsQuartier (MQ) which has modern artwork and museums.

 

I had a late lunch/early dinner (linner?) at Halle (English and German menus available)…
CIG_IMG244

… Then I took the metro to see the infamous Hundertwasser Village created by artist and architect, Hundertwasser. It was funky and colourful, and these are working apartments, so unfortunately tourists cannot enter unless you happen to know a resident. A shame since I really wanted to see the rooftop garden/forest, but understandable of course. I wouldn’t want a bunch of randos walking through my flat either.

IMG_1388

 

IMG_1412
“I am opposed to destruction and favour a constant evolution in harmony with nature and individual creativity.” – Hundertwasser

Before I went back to my Airbnb I stopped for some delicious ramen at Karma Ramen. I had the yasai ramen (vegetarian) that had sweet potato, which I was wary of but it was surprisingly delicious and paired really well with the miso broth. Yum!!!! Once again, I ate everything. I imagine I looked like an anime character if anyone happened to watch me eat. Ya’know, bowl to my face as I slurp and shove noodles in my mouth with chopsticks. Luckily no one was sitting next to me so I didn’t have to give any warnings about the splash zone. After a full day of walking, and with a full belly, I was ready to unwind and get ready for the next day.

IMG_1425
*Drools gracefully*
Leave a Reply

