Czech Yourself in Prague: Day 3

7 May 2017

Marathon Day!!!! Luckily, I woke up only mildly sore from the previous day’s adventures – YAY! However, I did have a stress dream about missing the start time …. I can never seem to get away from those dreams no matter how many marathons I run. Anyways, I put on my running gear and walked over to the start line, conveniently located in Old Town Square. There was music to motivate runners and I headed to my start area to drop off my bag and do some stretches before the marathon.

The marathon itself was organised around Prague so I got to see most of the city on this day. We even got to run across Charles Bridge, which is usually filled with tourists during the day. So yes, I did take the time to snap a few pictures and selfies. I finished later than I usually do since I’ve been having issues with my shin…but also because I was so inconsistent with training. I get so lazy when it comes to training. I’m pretty sure the most I ran was 8.5 miles/ 13.5 km per day. Woops.

20170507_093103

But I finished and got my medal! Woo-hoo! Then I did my post-marathon ritual of eating pizza and beer, one of my favourite combinations in life. I ate at the lovely Giovanni Pizzeria.

The trick to not waking up sore the next day is to keep those legs moving. So after my pizza I headed to the Old Town Hall and walked up more spiral staircases to get to the vantage point just above the Astronomical Clock. I snapped a few pictures and went out in search of dessert.

CIG_IMG384

CIG_IMG382
Views from the Old Town Hall

The Czech pastry, trdelník is a common type of cake you’ll find around Prague. It’s everywhere, but I headed to a specific shop – Good Food Coffee and Bakery which sells these “chimney cakes” with more extras (Nutella, ice cream, homemade whipped cream, strawberries, etc.). I had the classic one filled with vanilla ice cream and fresh strawberries. It was sooooo delicious. I was thinking about heading out on the metro to see more of Prague, but I was so exhausted. I meant to go out with a bang in Prague, but instead, I went quietly and completely full of ice cream. I’ll take it! There was still so much of Prague I wanted to see, mainly, the Strahov Monastery and Petrín Hill. I guess I’ll just have to plan a second trip! Until next time, Prague!

Leave a Reply

