Czech Yourself in Prague: Day 2

Saturday, 6 May 2017

My second day in Prague was a FULL day since the next day was the marathon, and I would be leaving on Monday. Naturally, I did as much as I could on Saturday. I started by heading to Prague Castle by tram. It’s an uphill trek and visitors have to get in line for a security check. The entire estate is quite large and includes the Golden Lane, Old Royal Palace, St. Vitus Cathedral, St. George’s Basilica and more, all of which require a ticket. I cannot stress how great student discounts are. Technically, to get a university student discount you have to be 26 years old or under so I just made sure to ask for a student discount while showing my uni card without mentioning my age, and it worked! Assertiveness pays off!

Full adult tickets to visit all buildings are CZK 350 (£12/€14), but I got the student price at CZK 175 (£5.65/€6.50). Win! Totally worth it to visit this entire medieval estate. FYI Tickets are sold in a cafe/shop once you enter the estate.

I first walked through Golden Lane, which I can only describe as cute, quaint and colourful….that is if you didn’t enter one of the buildings which housed medieval torture devices and swords (still cool though!). These homes were originally inhabited by castle servants and other artisans.

 

Next, I went into St. George’s Basilica:

 

I then went into  St. Vitus Cathedral which was simply breathtaking. I was already in awe of it as I looked at it from the outside but the inside was simply amazing:

CIG_IMG190

I then walked up the South Tower of the Cathedral and severely underestimated the amount of steps there were leading up to the worth-it vantage point. I mean, I really should have guessed just by looking from the outside but as I ascended the spiral staircase I stopped halfway through and thought what the HELL am I doing?! I’m running a freaking marathon tomorrow!! I better not wake up sore! Alas, I was already committed and onward I went. And I’m glad I did:

Lastly, I walked through the Old Royal Palace and noticed there was a “No Photos” sign…so I took that as a friendly suggestion and switched from my Canon to my phone.

While there was much more to see, I had to cut my visit short — even though I already spent several hours at the Castle — because I had much more to see around Prague.

From Prague Castle I walked to John Lennon Wall:

CIG_IMG308

Afterward I rushed to the Staropramen Brewery where I had booked a brewery tour, which included a free beer at the end! Yay!


To end the day, I did one of my favourite things before running a marathon: Carb-o-loading!! I ate at Oliva Verde, another restaurant in the Old Town Square and had pasta and bruschetta. Yuuuummmy! I then went back to my Airbnb and did a few stretches after the full day of walking and climbing staircases and slept early to prep for Sunday, AKA: marathon day!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

