Czech Yourself in Prague: Day 1

Friday, 5 May 2017

The first stop in my Journey to 30 was Prague, Czech Republic. This is where I strategically planned for a marathon so I could spend the rest of my holiday relaxing, exploring new cities, and eating whatever I wanted, but let’s be real, I would have eaten anything I wanted without running a marathon as well.

First things first, it was pretty easy to get into the city, made easier by the fact that I only had a carry-on. From the airport, I took the 119 bus to Nádraží Veleslavín, where I switched to Metro A that took me into town. Sounds complex, but pretty straight forward once you’re there. Feel free to review your options from the airport here.

I stayed at an Airbnb close to Old Town Square. It was literally a 2 minute walk to the Astronomical Clock if even that, and also right next to a Sex Machines Museum. Yup, I repeat, a Sex Machines Museum. Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to explore the museum but I’m assuming sex contraptions of some kind are involved. I, of course, took a few pictures of my initial arrival: Clock, market, the neighbourhood. The market sold various trinkets and food, and also, puppets because I learned that puppet-making an puppet shows are a huge thing in Prague and part of Czech culture in general.

Afterward, I went on the tram to the sports expo to pick up my running swag and bib number for the marathon. You guys, “twerking” was legitimately a planned show during the expo. I caught the tail-end of it (pun intended), but polls were involved and children were watching. No one seemed to mind.

 

20170518_183844
The planned “twerking” show.

I headed back to Prague 1 (the city is divided into several zones), where I went on the hunt to find something to eat. I instead, went to a bar first (lol). It was one I heard about – Anonymous Bar, inspired by the film, V for Vendetta so Guy Fawkes masks were a major theme of the bar. It was actually pretty great! Of course, the cocktails were on the pricier side but they were also priced at the Czech Koruna so they were still cheaper than cocktails you would find in London.

Both cocktails I had were under £10 each so that’s saying something. And they were both delicious! My drinks of choice were: Scarlet Rose, which consisted of gin, creme, and egg white, and the Japan, which was a plum-based drink. My fave was Scarlet Rose as it wasn’t too creamy. It was perfection, and it was yummy. Another cool factor of this bar was that after I ordered my first drink, the waiter gave me a black light which revealed hidden drinks in the menu. How cool is that?! I noticed empty boxes when I was first looked through the menu but once I showed a black light on those “empty” spaces, more cocktail items were revealed!

CIG_IMG047CIG_IMG060

After my two cocktails I went back to looking for dinner and settled on Spanish-themed restaurant, El Toro Negro, right in Old Town Square. I had a great view of the Astronomical Clock, and I was even invited to sit at a table with other travelers! Usually I keep to myself when I travel and I’m not one to initiate conversations with randos even if I hear them speak and realise they’re from the same country as myself – this has happened before (yes, I’m a bit of an introvert, but an adventurous one!). When I was invited, I thought, sure what the hell, you know? So I ended up having dinner with two individuals from Brazil, and one from Argentina, all of whom were in Prague for business. They initially invited me over because they pegged me for a Spanish-speaker and they were right! Almost as soon as I sat down I was asked, hablas espanol?

It was great though, I spoke in Spanglish as one of the Brazilians was not great with Spanish but could understand pretty well. We had dinner and I called it a night since I wanted to keep a regular schedule in the days leading up to my marathon, but not before I recorded the Astronomical Clock as it struck 11pm. Thus endeth my first day in Prague.

P.s. If you ever wanted to try absinthe, it’s EVERYWHERE in Prague.

CIG_IMG017

Leave a Reply

