My Way or Galway

In my previous post about Dublin, I mentioned I visited the city yet again in the summer of 2013. This time around it was a lot more sunny so I took advantage of the amazing weather.

Firstly, because Trinity College was closed for the Christmas holidays, I was unable to visit the Book of Kells. FYI, the university will usually close from 23 December until after New Years Day. Naturally I went this time around. I suggest going very early to avoid long lines. Visitors are obviously not allowed to take photos of this medieval manuscript, but you can definitely take photos along the way.

 

Glendalough, Wicklow, and Kilkenny

There are plenty of day tours offered that depart from Dublin. I booked my day trip with Collins Day Tours, but there’s also Wild Rover Tours, Paddy Wagon Tours, and Hilltop Treks. I can vouch for Collins Day which provided a great overview of the surrounding nature. If I was not part of the tour group, I would have hiked through Glendalough all day. This tour also includes walking through a world famous 6th century monastic site, more commonly known as Monastic City.

Galway

During my second trip to Ireland I discovered that there were frequent buses travelling to Galway. I purchased a ticket through Citylink, which picks up people along the River Liffey. Citylink also offers numerous destinations besides Galway and picks up from Dublin airport as well. Visit their site for a complete list.

Dublin –> Galway:

  • Standard Ticket: €11.50 departure and €11.50 return if purchased online
  • Student Ticket: €10.50 departure and €10.50 return if purchased online.
  • Duration to Galway: about 2 hour 30 min.

Galway is yet another beautiful and quaint town in Ireland and is the destination you want to make if you’d like to visit the original Claddaugh makers. Do pay a visit to Thomas Dillon Claddaugh Gold, which also houses a tiny museum of the claddaugh ring. There are some affordable pieces…and there’s also not so affordable pieces.

 

I also did the very touristy thing of booking an open-top city bus tour which leaves from the main coach station in Galway. I booked with Lally Tours whose first departure time is 10:30am and last is 3:00pm. Once you purchase a ticket, it will be good for all-day and you can hop on and off at any of its points.

  • Adult Ticket: €12
  • Student Ticket: €9
  • Stops (not a complete list): Courthouse and Town Hall Theatre, Galway Cathedral, View over the city, Salthill Promenade, and more

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

