Double Dublin

“The world is full of magical things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.”

– W.B. Yeats

The more I travel the more I discover those magical things. I see them in the people I meet, the wilderness I explore, the cultures I experience, and in the increasing realisation that the world is both large and small. Large in the sense there is so much of the world to see, and small in the sense you have the chance to build connections (however small and fleeting) while travelling.

I visited the country of Yeats, Wilde, Joyce, Stoker, and I fell in love with Ireland, so much so that I visited it twice: first, during Christmas in 2012, and again in the summer of 2013.

The Highlights

I stayed at Avalon House during Christmas, and at Kinlay House during the summer. Both were fairly decent places but Avalon had the better breakfast, hands down.

Visit

Guinness Storehouse

You can’t visit Dublin and not visit this national treasure. You get a free taster during your tour and a voucher for a free pint, which you can validate at their fabulous Gravity Bar. FYI children can actually attend the tour but don’t expect them to have a pint.

Howth

Howth is a small fishing town that lies east of Dublin and easily accessible by a €5 train ride via the DART (similar to San Francisco’s BART). It looks like prices may have increased slightly. Feel free to purchase a ticket at your nearest DART station on the day of your trip or online. I got by just fine purchasing it at the station same day as my trip.

Dublin Writers Museum

If you’re a fan of Irish literature and poetry, do visit this quaint museum.

Millstone – I literally followed my nose into this place and was not disappointed. It’s a place for carnivores and vegetarians alike. They have a beef tasting plate, if you can’t decide on a cut!

Temple Bar district – Do experience the musical nightlife of Temple Bar and the surrounding pubs.

The Brazen Head – Established in 1198 (what?!) and Ireland’s oldest pub. Serves traditional pub grub but it’s nice to cross off your list. By the way, if like me you thought to yourself that if this place had to specify it was the oldest pub in Ireland, what is the oldest pub in the world? Look Here.

Read my other post to learn about my second trip to Dublin and my first visit to Galway.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

